Association Council Members 2016-2017

ASSOCIATION COUNCIL 2016-17 (left to right)

Avi Goldberg, Eric Durling, Estelle Lamothe, Hugo Casanova, Jacques Mainville, Janice Paquette, Ruth Belfer, Robyn Diner, Sheila Das, Simon McAslan, Sophie Jacmin, Wissam Chaya

The Association Council is deliberative body of the VCTA which makes decisions on how the union should run between General Assemblies makes recommendations to the General Assembly. It is composed of the four Executive members and twelve other VCTA members (six at large and two from each of the three faculties) who are elected in April of each year, for a one year mandate.  Council members represent all teachers but bring the point of view and experience of their faculty to Council. The Association Council meets every two or three weeks during the semester and the agendas are sent out to the entire membership. All teachers are welcome and encouraged to attend and speak at Association Council but only Council members can vote on motions.